top of page

JEAN TINGUELY. TORPEDO INSTITUT

 

 

JEAN TINGELY. TORPEDO INSTITUT (2015) is a book that reconstructs the monumental project that Jean Tinguely created, from 1988 until his death in 1991, in an old factory that he bought in La Verrerie, between Bulle and Vevey, in the canton of Fribourg where he lived in Switzerland .

The Torpedo Institut - which Tinguely declared to be an anti-museum upon his arrival in the area - is the largest work ever conceived by the artist. The industrial spaces in which it is being developed cover more than 3,000 square metres. They are obscured by imposing steel plates, which Tinguely closes off all the openings to the Fribourg countryside. The artist wanted to live and work in the night. In the various rooms of the Torpedo Institut, the artist orchestrates one hundred and twenty of his machines that rotate and squeak and scream in the dark. They represent the whole of the creator's career: here we find the Meta Malevitch or Meta Kandinsky from the beginnings, the Klamauk of 1979, the Grande Meta Maxi Utopia presented in 1987 in Venice, the Dernière Collaboration avec Yves Klein of 1988, The Retable de l'abondance occidentale et du mercantilisme totalitaire of 1990, four-handed pieces made with Milena Palakarkina. Tinguely also presented his artist friends in the Torpedo Institut: more than twenty figures by Eva Aeppli standing on a pedestal in the first room, in the second room an Oiseau amoureux by Niki de Saint Phalle: the imposing sculpture is eight metres high and runs on rails. Further on, there is a gigantic Atlas by Bernhard Luginbühl. All of these pieces were commissioned for the site by the sculptor, who is still showing works by Robert Rauschenberg, Yves Klein, Keith Haring, Ben Vautier, Daniel Spoerri, Alfred Hofkunst and other artists from Fribourg, which, as in the museum reserves, are hung on large sliding gates that Tinguely calls the Bilderbahnhof. In the Torpedo Institut, Tinguely also gathered together objects that were dear to him: Ferraris, a World War II aeroplane hanging upside down or a time clock on which he wanted visitors to stamp as they entered the place.

Far away from the major centres and glitzy museums that are flourishing at the end of the millennium, far away from the record attendance of the consumerist exhibitions that mark the era, Tinguely intends to open his anti-museum to a limited public. Visitors are invited to book well in advance and are given a specific day and time. They are greeted by an indifferent secretary, whose specifications, drawn up by the artist, state that her main occupation is nail varnishing. They are provided with headphones with incomprehensible commentary. Each one must therefore manage alone with the works, in the maze, darkness and traps reserved for them by the artist, and venture to begin under a monumental guillotine placed at the entrance to the first room.

With the Torpedo Institut, Tinguely summed up his lifelong anti-art attitude. Did he not say: For thieves there are prisons; for artists there are museums?

When the sculptor died suddenly in August 1991, the Torpedo Institut was practically completed. After the death of the artist, it was the subject of much discussion and controversy. Under painful circumstances, it was finally dismantled - against the wishes of the artist, who had declared in his will that he wanted the work to survive him.

Olivier Suter, Jean Tinguely. Torpedo Institut, 256 pages, numerous illustrations, Edition Patrick Frey, Zürich. French edition out of print. German edition available.

A first version of Jean Tinguely. Torpedo Institut, was published in 2010 by Pro Fribourg, book 169, Fribourg.

 

 

 

bottom of page

top of page

JEAN TINGUELY. TORPEDO INSTITUT I 2015

 

JEAN TINGELY. TORPEDO INSTITUT est un ouvrage qui reconstitue le projet monumental que Jean Tinguely a créé, de 1988 à sa mort en 1991, dans une ancienne fabrique qu'il a achetée à La Verrerie, entre Bulle et Vevey, dans le canton de Fribourg où il vivait en Suisse.

 

Le Torpedo Institut – que Tinguely déclare antimusée dès son arrivée dans les lieux – est la plus grande œuvre jamais conçue par l'artiste. Les espaces industriels dans lesquels elle se développe s'étendent sur plus de 3000 m2. Ils sont obscurcis par d'imposantes plaques d'acier dont Tinguely obture toutes les ouvertures qui donnent sur la campagne fribourgeoise. L'artiste veut vivre et œuvrer dans la nuit. Dans les différentes salles qui composent le Torpedo Institut, l'artiste orchestre cent vingt de ses machines qui tournent, grincent et hurlent dans la pénombre. Elles représentent l'ensemble du parcours du créateur : on trouve là des Méta Malevitch ou des Méta Kandinsky des débuts, le Klamauk de 1979, la Grande Méta Maxi Maxi Utopia présentée en 1987 à Venise, la Dernière Collaboration avec Yves Klein de 1988, Le Retable de l'Abondance occidentale et du Mercantilisme totalitaire de 1990, des pièces à quatre mains réalisées avec Milena Palakarkina. Tinguely présente aussi ses amis artistes dans le Torpedo Institut : plus de vingt figures d'Eva Aeppli dressées sur un socle dans la première salle, dans la seconde un Oiseau Amoureux de Niki de Saint Phalle : la sculpture imposante mesure 8 mètres de haut et roule sur des rails. Plus loin, il y a un gigantesque Atlas de Bernhard Luginbühl. Toutes ces pièces sont commandées pour le lieu par le sculpteur qui présente encore des œuvres de Robert Rauschenberg, Yves Klein, Keith Haring, Ben Vautier, Daniel Spoerri, Alfred Hofkunst, d'artistes fribougeois aussi, accrochées comme dans les réserves des musées sur de grandes grilles coulissantes que Tinguely nomme Bilderbahnhof. Et puis, Tinguely réunit dans le Torpedo Institut des objets qui lui sont chers : des Ferraris, un avion de la deuxième Guerre mondiale suspendu à l'envers ou une pointeuse sur laquelle il veut que les visiteurs timbrent lorsqu'ils pénètrent dans le lieu.

Loin des grands centres et des musées clinquants qui fleurissent en cette fin de millénaire, loin des fréquentations record des expositions consuméristes qui balisent l'époque, Tinguely entend ouvrir son antimusée à un public limité. Les visiteurs sont invités à réserver longtemps à l'avance, et sont convoqués à une heure et un jour précis. Ils sont accueillis avec désinvolture par une secrétaire indifférente dont le cahier des charges établi par l'artiste précise que la principale occupation consiste à se vernir les ongles. On leur fournit un casque audio dont le commentaire est incompréhensible. Chacun doit donc se débrouiller seul avec les œuvres, dans le dédale, l'obscurité et les pièges que lui réserve l'artiste, et s'aventurer pour commencer sous une monumentale guillotine placée à l'entrée de la première salle.

 

Avec le Torpedo Institut, Tinguely résume l'attitude anti-art qui a été la sienne sa vie durant. N'a-t-il pas dit : Pour les voleurs, il y a les prisons ; pour les artistes il y a les musées ?

À la mort du créateur survenue brusquement en août 1991, le Torpedo Institut est pratiquement achevé. Il est, après la disparition du plasticien, le sujet de nombreuses discussions et de multiples polémiques. Dans des circonstances douloureuses, il est finalement démantelé — contre la volonté de l'artiste qui avait déclaré par testament son désir de voir l'œuvre lui survivre.

Olivier Suter, Jean Tinguely. Torpedo Institut, 256 pages, nombreuses illustrations en couleur et n/b, 2015, Edition Patrick Frey, Zürich. Éditions française et allemande.

Une première version de Jean Tinguely. Torpedo Institut, a été publiée en 2010 chez Pro Fribourg, cahier 169, Fribourg.

 

 

 

bottom of page